What Are User & Service Accounts?
Tanzu Observability by Wavefront supports two account types:
- User accounts are for human users who work with Wavefront. A user account authenticates with a user name and password.
- Service accounts are for services that interact with Wavefront through an API and use a token to authenticate. Service accounts are used to automate management tasks. As a user with the Accounts permission, you generate (and revoke, if needed) authentication tokens for the service account. It’s also possible to deactivate a service account completely.
- Don’t have default permissions (unless one or more roles with permissions are assigned to the Service Accounts group.).
- Can’t perform the UI operations that user accounts can perform by default. In the UI, service account names always start with sa:.
Who Is the Super Admin User?
When your company signs up with Tanzu Observability, we ask you which users you want to designate as Super Admin users for your Wavefront instance. A Super Admin user:
- Has all permissions.
- Has access to all dashboards and alerts.
- Can restore orphan dashboards and alerts.
- Can invite other Super Admin users.
- Can upgrade from trial version and purchase Wavefront.
- Can purchase more PPS.
- Can create ingestion policies and examine the overall Wavefront usage.
As a Super Admin user, you can add other Super Admin users:
- Click the gear icon on the toolbar, and select Super Admin.
- Enter the user name of a user you want to add as a Super Admin.
Roles allow you to combine a set of permissions. For example, create an Intern role to give limited permissions to interns. You can:
- Assign one or more roles to any group (preferred).
- Assign a role to an individual account.
Groups allow you to combine a set of users. You can then:
- Assign a role to the group.
- Give view or modify access for individual dashboards and alerts to the group.
The groups in your Wavefront environment do not currently synchronize with the groups in your identity provider (IdP) such as Active Directory or LDAP.
What’s the Everyone Group?
All user accounts are members of the Everyone group. By default, no service account is added to this group. All service accounts are added to the Service Accounts group.
Here’s what you need to know:
- You cannot remove accounts from the Everyone group. All user accounts, including Super Admin, are always in the Everyone group.
- You cannot delete the Everyone group.
You can change the roles assigned to the Everyone group. By default, the group has associated roles, which means that human users can browse data but cannot modify anything.
Warning If you assign a role to the Everyone group, you change the permissions for each user account in your environment.
- If you use access control in your environment, you can share a dashboard or alert with the Everyone group to:
- Give View & Modify access to accounts who have Dashboards or Alerts permissions.
- Give View access to accounts who don’t have Dashboards or Alerts permissions. You can remove the Everyone group from a dashboard or alert access list to limit access to that object.
What’s the Service Accounts Group?
With the 2021-42.x release, all service accounts are moved out of the Everyone group to the Service Accounts group. This separation is necessary so that you have different groups for the different types of accounts in your system.
The Service Accounts group has associated roles and by default service accounts cannot browse data. If you assign a role to the Service Accounts group, you change the permissions for each service account in your environment.